A brief history

The Department of Anatomical Pathology was founded by professor F. Agheicenko in 1945. He was the first head of the department. At that time, the main research of the department was morphology of CNS tuberculosis, supporting also 5 doctors of medicine theses.

Professor D. Golovin (1918-1981) succeeded professor F. Agheicenko in 1954. He extended the research platform improving the instructive-educational process. He was concerned about the organization of work in the morgue, initiating also clinical-anatomical conferences. Scientific results were presented in three PhD theses in medicine and three monographs.

During 1958-1985 the department was headed by Academician V. Anestiade. It was a significant period for our university. With the foundation of new faculties (pediatrics, dentistry and preventive medicine), the training process was updated and restructured. Within the department, new divisions were set up such as the Oncology Institute (Professor Iraida Iacovlev), Phtisiopneumonology Institute (Dr. I. Haidarlî) and the ICŞDOSMC (Professor I. Fuior (1944-2008)). The Pathology Department had become a methodical- scientific republican centre.

The scientific direction proposed by Academician V. Anestiadi, concerns cardiovascular pathology. During this period 3 members of the Department became doctors habilitate, 18 doctoral students successful defended their theses and got their PhD degrees and 5 monographs were published under the guidance of Academician V. Anestiade. In 1977 Academician V. Anestiade and his disciples Ie Zota and S. Rusu were awarded the State Prize of RM.

From 1986 to 1987, the department was headed by associate Professor A. Banaru (1937-1987). He was a talented teacher and organizer, who implemented modern methods of training and certification of students.

During 1987-2012 the Department was headed by professor Ie. Zota corresponding member of Academy of Science of Moldova. The scientific research continued with atherosclerosis pathomorphogenesis. In this period of time one habilitate thesis and 5 PhD theses in medicine were completed.

Teaching: As the only Pathology Department at the University that is both a basic science and a clinical department, the teaching mission is complex and serves an extremely diverse spectrum of learners, including but not limited to medical students, dental students, clinical residents and fellows, postdoctoral research fellows, pre-doctoral students in the Graduate Program in Pathology and other graduate programs, and a variety of undergraduate students in multiple health and academic courses and programs. The teaching mission also includes a very active participation in continuing medical education at the local, regional, national and international levels. Since 2002 pathology has been taught in English. A significant contribution to the work of the department was made by lecturers G. Cernocan (1935-2002) and P. Ionesi (1939-2007).

The main focus of research is the dynamic study of atherogenesis morphological changes with 5 doctor habilitate theses, 32 MD ​​theses, 15 monographs and 2 thematic collections being published. Pathology Department staffs have published over 300 scientific papers, three textbooks (compendium-atlas), 1 medical dictionary; there were two inventions and 70 innovations.

From 2012 to 2015, the Head of Department was Associate Professor Dr Constantin Marian. Then, in August 2015, Associate Professor Dr Eugen Melnic was appointed as Head of the Department.